Belleville Workers’ Compensation Claims Lawyers
It is understandable that in the aftermath of a work injury, the injured worker may be unsure of how to proceed. But the actions an employee takes after an injury can be crucial in laying the groundwork for a successful workers’ compensation claim. Understanding how to properly communicate and present an injury, sooner rather than later, can make all the difference between a compensable claim and a denied claim.
Filing for Workers’ Compensation: St. Clair County and Surrounding Areas
At Glass & Korein, LLC, we represent injured workers throughout the St. Louis area, Central Illinois and Southern Illinois. From helping our clients understand how to report their injury to fighting workers’ compensation insurance carriers on their behalf, we handle all aspects of workers’ compensation claims for our clients.
Not sure what steps to take after your work injury? Call 618-216-5218 or toll free 888-504-7059 for a free and confidential consultation with our Belleville workers’ compensation claims attorneys.
Reporting Your Injury
Under Illinois workers’ compensation laws, you have 45 days from the date of accident to report your injury to your employer. The 45 days is based on the time you knew or should have known about your injury. It is in your best interest to have a witness with you when you report your injury, preferably a witness who is not part of management. For example, if you are a union employee, it is best to have a shop steward or other union representative with you as some employers will even try to deny you gave notice. If you are nonunion, a co-worker who will back you in case you have to prove you gave notice later will work.
It is best to report your injury as soon as possible. Waiting until a later date or until you encounter difficulty with your employer can be used against you due to the perception that you “have an axe to grind.”
Be Consistent and Accurate
One of the most important aspects of reporting your injury is to be consistent with the dates and details you present to your employer and every medical provider. Any inconsistencies in your reporting can, and likely will, be used against you by your employer or his or her insurance carrier.
Accuracy is also crucial. Do not overstate how the injury is affecting you. Even simple mistakes, like saying that you reach above your head 450 times per day to reach a conveyor, which is actually at waist level, can have a negative impact on your claim. Do Not Give a Recorded Statement to the Insurance Carrier. Illinois law does not require it, and any inconsistencies between the recorded statement and what you state a year later after memories fade will be used against you.
Belleville Workers’ Compensation Claim Attorney
If you are considering filing for workers’ compensation, the first step is to contact us for a free and confidential call or meeting with one of our dedicated lawyers. Weekend and evening appointments are available. We work for our clients on a contingency fee basis; you will not pay us unless and until we have collected what you’re entitled to under the Illinois laws written to protect you.